top of page

Talking about web sites and more

I spoke to a woman today who is very into crafts. She sells them where she works sometimes, and she advertises her "brand name" on a face book website linked to or as an extension of her personal facebook which is fine but not very professional. I began to encourage her try to have a website done and as I started to talk about it she basically made the comments of not really understanding much about websites. I told her she needed to get a host and she went blank. It occurs to me that webmasters and web developers and advertisers and web enthusiasts and saturday web warriors (if there is such a thing) and the many web apprentices who think themselves more novice or master than not have a very good grasp of all the lingo. Hosting and front end work and back end work and design develoment and code. Indexes and scripts and basic pages and commercial pages with shopping cart technology leave the rest of the world staring blankly at us wondering what language we are speaking.

So I began to explain a couple things to the lady I was talking with outside the grand opening of an art store and in reflection I think what I said could be shared with those who want to understand what a website truly is and why "professional webmasters" charge so darned much for their services. "My nephew is taking courses on this cant he do my webpage for me?" Well how far a long is he in his courses? Maybe he can and then maybe he can make a royal mess of it.

so here goes.

Next

Hosting

Recent Posts
Featured Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page